Board & Mission Statement
Why IAM?
About Us
Articles by IAM Associates
Ben-Gurion University
Hebrew University
University of Haifa
Tel Aviv University
Other Institutions
Boycott Calls Against Israel
Israelis in Non-Israeli Universities
Anti-Israel Petitions Supported by Israeli Academics
General Articles
Anti-Israel Conferences
Anti-Israel Academic Resolutions
Lectures Interrupted
Activists Profiles
Readers Forum
On the Brighter Side
How can I complain?
Contact Us / Subscribe
Anti-Israel Petitions Supported by Israeli Academics
Statement Condemning Israel for its brutal "War Crimes and Aggresison, signed by Israeli Academics



A Call for Peace
We, Israelis and Palestinians, wish to state at these critical moments, that while war is always a tragedy by itself, this illegal and frightful American war on Iraq contravenes all human values and concepts of Justice. This War could lead to a terrible setback to the hopes and expectations of a just Palestinian-Israeli peace, especially so, if the extremist Sharon government, which strongly supports this war, will use this opportunity to undertake its dreadful design against the Palestinian people living under the Israeli occupation.

The experience of more than 50 years of conflict between the State of Israel and the Palestinian people proves, beyond a shadow of doubt, that the problem cannot be solved by force. The continued occupation creates resistance to it in various forms. Therefore, the occupation is responsible for the suffering of both Palestinians and Israelis, condemning them to a life of physical insecurity, economic crisis and social disintegration and therefore it must be Ended.

At the same time, we wish to express our profound concern about the incidents of extreme violence, resulting from the intensification of the Israeli military occupation of the Palestinian Territories and of the Palestinian attacks inside Israel.

We condemn the brutal policy of the Israeli government aimed at destroying the Palestinian society, the Palestinian economy and the elected Palestinian leadership Headed By President Yasser Arafat. The erection of the ‘apartheid wall’ is a further device to help the ethnic cleansing against the Palestinian people.

However, we believe that there is no way to put an end to the acts of all forms of violence, without a just peace based on the co-existence of two states for the two peoples. This solution should be based on the June 4, 1967 borders, with two capitals in Jerusalem, the evacuation of Israeli settlements in the Occupied Palestinian Territories, and a just solution to the refugee problem by agreement between the two sides and cooperation between them and the international community, based on the relevant UN resolutions.

We emphasize again our call for complete termination of all attacks on civilians, both on the Israeli and Palestinians sides. We believe that on both sides there are forces that are willing to reopen the way to peace. We call on the international community to urgently intervene in the interests of ending the violence on both sides and concluding a final peace agreement.

We finally call on everybody who supports these ideas to speak out now in support of an Israeli-Palestinian peace front against the occupation, for mutual recognition and peace between the two nations.

In order to facilitate cooperation between the forces of peace on both sides and their joint efforts on a day-to-day basis, we hereby establish the ‘Joint Action Group for Israeli-Palestinian Peace’.

List of initial Israeli and Palestinian supporters in alphabetical order:

1) Dr. Samir Abdalla
President of Arab Centre of Agricultural Development
Professor in Economics A'Najah University.

2) Shulamit Aloni
Former Minister in Rabin's Cabinet
Jurist and Guest Lecturer
Tel Aviv U. Law School

3. Prof. Colman Altman,
Dept of Physics,
Technion, Haifa

4. Dr. Janina Altman,
Chemist (retired)

5. Prof. Daniel Amit,
Dept of Physics,
Hebrew University,

6. Prof. Zalman Amit
Professor Emeritus
Concordia University
Montreal, Canada

7. Dr. Yossi Amitay,
Dept. of Middle East Studies,
Ben-Gurion University

8. Dr. Meir Amor
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Concordia University
Montreal, Canada

9. Dr. Hanan Ashrawi, PLC Member,
Director general of"Miftah" -
Centre for Global dialogue and Democracy

10. Uri Avnery,
Tel Aviv

11. Dr Ariella Azoulay,
Camera Obscura School of Art
and Bar Ilan University
Ramat Gan

12. Dr. Gabi Baramki
ex president of Bir-Zeit university

13. Prof. Anat Biletzki,
Chair of the Board of B'Tselem,
Dept. of Philosophy
Tel Aviv University

14. Prof. Victoria Buch,
Dept. of Chemistry
Hebrew University

15. Prof. Naomi Chazan, former MK
African Studies
Hebrew University

16. Dr. Raya Cohen,
Dept. of Jewish History
Tel Aviv University

17. Prof. Gideon Freudenthal
History of Philosophy of Science
Tel Aviv University

18. Prof. Rachel Giora
Dept. of Linguistics
Tel Aviv University

19. Yehudith Harel
Organizational Psychologist
and Peace Activist
Ramat Ha Sharon

20 . Dr. Manuel Hassasian
Vice President of BetLehem University

21. Dr. Sara Helman
Department of Behavioral Sciences
Ben Gurion University

22. Prof. Hannan Hever
Dept. of Hebrew Literature
The Hebrew University,

23. Dr. Ghassan Khatib
Minister of Labour in Palestine

24. Prof. Baruch Kimmerling
Dept. of Sociology
Hebrew University,

25. Dr. Orly Lubin,
Department of Poetics and Comparative Literature,
Tel Aviv University,

26. Dr. Ahmad Majdalani
Editor of "People's Struggle Magazine"
Professor at Bir Zeit University

27. Dr. Ruchama Marton
Director of PHR
Tel Aviv

28. Dr. Isaac (Yanni) Nevo,
Ben Gurion University,

29. Prof. Adi Ophir,
History of Philosophy and ideas
Tel-Aviv University

30. Prof. Avraham Oz
Department of Theatre
University of Haifa

31. Prof. Gabi Piterberg,
Department of History,

32. Prof. Tanya Reinhart
Dept. of Poetics and Comparative Literature
Dept. of Linguistics
Tel Aviv University

33. Prof. Tova Rosen
Dept. of Hebrew Literature
Tel Aviv University

34. Dr. Samih Shbeeb
Writer and Columnist in local Palestinian
and Arab Magazines and Newspapers.

35. Mahmoud Shqir
Director General at the Palestinian Cultural Ministry.

36. Dr. Azmi Shuabi, PLC member
Secretary general for" Aman" centre -
Monitoring Transparency and Accountability in Palestine.

37. Prof. Oren Yiftachel
Chair, Dept. of Geography,
Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Editor, 'Hagar: International Social Science Review'

Back to "Anti-Israel Petitions Supported by Israeli Academics"Send Response
Top Page
    Developed by Sitebank & Powered by Blueweb Internet Services
    Visitors: 256855139Send to FriendAdd To FavoritesMake It HomepagePrint version